The night before Christmas . . .

I loved making this Christmas card.

I wanted to make some night-time Christmas cards  . . .  but I wanted ones which weren’t the typical  ‘cottage with the lamp in the window’ views, nor the:  ‘Santa driving his sleigh across the moon’ type of thing.   These sorts of card are really lovely, pretty cards.  But they weren’t what I had in mind to make.  I wanted to make something more ‘edgy’.  Christmas night skybut with a difference.

A Day 3 The Night Before Christmas 30.10.2014

Made using only Card-io Stamps for the images on the card.  I began by first making a mask for the moon – which I cut from a post it note, using the sticky part of the post it as part of the circle, so that I could attach it to the card without any fear of it marking the card when I removed it.

After getting the moon in place, I then ‘put in’ the snow drifts and then stamped some trees.  I added the birds flying in the sky, and then chose a black fine tipped pen and drew a swirly line around the left hand side of the card and across the top.  To this I ‘pegged’ some stars, (in three sizes), some hearts and some Christmas Trees.  The hearts I coloured in red, the trees in green,   and the stars:  I coloured some in icy blue;  some in Gold glitter from a Glitter It pen, and some in sparkly Silver, again from a Glitter It pen.

C Day 3 The Night Before Christmas 30.10.2014 

I then added ‘snow’ to the snow drifts – using Pinflair Glitter Glue and Pinflair Snow Dust.  (see close up, above, of a section of the card so that you could see the Snow Dust).  I then took a fine tipped glue pen and added some tiny dots of glue, which I sprinkled some glitter dust on to make twinkly dots in the sky.  Finally, just to finish the night scene off, I used a Graph It marker in White, to add ‘snow’ dots to the scene.

B Day 3 The Night Before Christmas 30.10.2014

And that, –  as they say in some of those TV shows,  –  is all there is to it.

This card was seriously simple to make, and I really like the way it turned out.

I pretty much think I’ve told you everything I’ve used to make this card as I was walking you through what I did to make it.  The only things I think I’ve left out are:  I used Whisper Archival ink pads in three shades of blue and also in a sage green (only the teeniest bit of this).  I also used Ranger Archival Ink pad in black, and used Staedtler fine liner coloured pens to colour in the trees, stars and hearts.  Finally – the glitter I used was from a collection of glitters by WOW.

If I’ve missed anything and you want to know just ask using the comment box.

Thank you for coming and visiting.  I’m always so thrilled when I get visitors, and even more chuffed beyond measure when someone leaves a ‘like’ or comment for me, so please feel free to comment away!

Wishing you a thoroughly lovely Thursday.  Have a good one!   ~ love ~

Cobs siggy sml

Author: The Art of Cobwebs - aka:- thecobweboriumemporium

Hello. I'm 'Cobwebs'. I live in a wee little cottage in the South of England, aptly called Cobweb Cottage. This little dwelling really is a cobweb factory. Not inside (well, occasionally) - but outside - flipping heck! This information should give you a clue as to why my blog is called The Art of Cobwebs aka: The Cobweborium Emporium. I've been arty and crafty from a very young age, and although my crafts have sometimes turned a corner and taken me in another direction, I've always crafted in some way, shape or form. One day, in the blink of an eye, life changed somewhat for me and the consequences were many. I had to find a new way of being 'artistic'. Card making; scrap-booking; producing ATC's and ACEO's; needle felting; Polymer clay; painting- but in a more relaxed style than I had before, and sewing, - are all things which I visit, as and when life allows. I've fairy recently become a Textile Artist and am enjoying this new creative outlet very much as it offers me so much scope for letting my imagination run through a grassy field and feel the wind in my hair - (mentally, of course). I love to create. To make things. I truthfully believe that the best gifts in the world are those in which you've given your time, rather than your cash. Thank you so much for visiting. Please visit my blog (link below) and have a look around. I'm sure you'll find something to enjoy, even if it's only a handful of jokes! (yes, seriously - there really are jokes!) Wishing you a truly blessed rest of your day! ~ Cobs. <3

13 thoughts on “The night before Christmas . . .”

    1. Hello Emma – great to see you here! 😀

      The snow drifts are really simple to achieve:
      1)Get a piece of scrap paper (just the cheap stuff – copy paper, that type of thing) and tear across it – in a bit of a wobbly but straight’ish’ line and then lay that torn edge over the card stock you want to make your snow drift on.
      2)Taking grey stamp pad dab some colour onto either a blending tool or a cheap cosmetic sponge (see my post in the ‘Craft Products I Recommend’ category on my blog for the ‘cheap cosmetic sponges’ post) … dab up some ink onto your tool or sponge and then dab the ink off onto either your glass craft mat, or some scrap paper in order to take off the ink you’ve just picked up, – you want to leave only a whisper of the colour behind on the sponge.
      3) Then … gently swipe that sponge/blending tool over the torn edge of the paper where you want to make a snow drift on your card stock.

      You must hold that torn paper in place so that it doesn’t moveeven low tack it in place if you feel more confident doing that, because if it moves you’ll get a double edge snow drift which will look like a shadow of the other one, and it won’t look as crisp and tidy as you wand it to be.

      Just use gentle swipes – so gentle – so that the colour is barely perceptible – infact that you might think you haven’t inked there at all … but if you carefully lift the torn paper up on one side, you’ll see that there is a snow drift where there wasn’t one before!

      You can angle the torn paper so that snow drifts come down or go up the page, like hills or where the snow has blown into one place. You can tear more paper in order to get different shapes – more up and down hills, more bumps etc etc. You’ll soon find what sort of shapes you prefer.

      For the purposes of this mini ‘teach’, I’ve used a grey ink pad – which pretty much will make day and night time looking snow drifts. But .. if you go back to my card above (The Night Before Christmas card) you’ll see that I’ve used two or three blue shades, which I used to give the card that deeper feel which I was after to make this card come to life.

      Have a go at this before you commit yourself to your good cardstock – practise it a few times on scrap paper so that you feel confident. You’ll surprise yourself at how easy this effect is to achieve

      Hope that I’ve explained it properly so that you know what to do. It’s really easy though Ems. Not rocket science and no magical stuff. Just a bit of torn paper, an ink pad and a cheap make up sponge (or blending tool). VOILA! Snow drifts. (I feel like a magician pulling a rabbit out of a hat now! LOL).

      I’ll be looking out for snow drifts on your blog now Ems. 😉
      Thanks for visiting – I’m always chuffed to bits when I see your name here. 😀
      Sending love and crafty hugs ~ Cobs. x

      Like

    1. Thank you both, Astrid and Florence, for taking the time to leave me such lovely comments, (and a like).

      I’m seriously thrilled to bits that you like the card. Although I loved it when I made it, I did wonder if I’d strayed too far from the traditional Christmas card ‘feel’ – but at the same time the more I looked at it the more in love I became. So I’m overjoyed that you both like it. Thank you.
      Have a truly blessed day, both. Love ~ Cobs. xxx

      Like

  1. It looks so cold! I’m freezing just looking at it. It really evokes the feeling of midwinter (even if ‘technically’ Christmas isn’t mid-winter). What I like about the card is how cold it looks. Its not easy to capture ‘cold’ but you’ve done it well.

    Like

    1. Hello LemonD!
      Thank you so much for your comment. 😀 I’m chuffed to bits that you picked up on the ‘cold’ vibe because I was attempting one of those crisp, frosty night feelings, without going too far into an ice spectacular type of effect, which wouldn’t have been what I was trying for. :/

      It’s lovely to see you here, and again, thank you for taking the time to leave a message for me. It meams so much to have fellow bloggers and readers leave a few words as it kind of gets us all connected in such lovely ways.
      Sending love, and wishing you a blessed day. ~ ❤ Cobs. x

      Like

  2. Ive just been showing Sarah your beautiful Christmas cards and I noticed that for each one, there’s only a handful of likes.

    It occurs to me that this is because people are too busy. We are a nation of scanners and we’ve lost the art of reading properly and taking the time to view the art of others.

    But if these were also on Pinterest, loads of folk would be drooling over them. So, please take heart and be encouraged that there are many people who would adore these cards if they took time to slow down.

    It’s certainly not a waste of time because all of us who do have the priviledge of seeing your cards are abundantly blessed and I’m sure I’m speaking for everyone when I say that each day I wake up excited to know another pretty creation awaits me. x

    Like

    1. Aw, bless you, Sharon. Have to admit that the ‘Like’ button is something that I forget about too sometimes, so I’m as guilty as the next person for over-looking that button, but I’ll make a much better effort to remember, starting from today, to I try harder.

      Pinterest … I actually set up an account there, and pinned a few photo’s to it … but I totally forget about it and rarely remember to pin things which I’ve made. I’m glad of the reminder, thank you. I shall again try to make a much better effort to pin my offerings to my board.

      Have a truly lovely day Sharon. Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to comment.
      with love ~ Cobs. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment