It’s Only a Paper Moon ~ an ATC painted for World Watercolour Month

Hello again!  Happy Sunday.  I hope that I find you in full health and ready for a bright day filled with some smiles and a little love wherever you happen to be.

I’m still dedicated to the World Watercolour Month Challenge, (as you can see) and I’m here with another little ATC moonlight painting, only this time it’s shining over the sea.

Before I began I knew  I wanted to paint:- a moon, the sea and a wee little sail boat/dinghy bobbing on the ocean.  So I had a plan.

As I painted, the fabulous song from ‘Paper Moon’ came back to me and I ended up singing to myself.  It seemed like the perfect title to use for this post, so I did use it. As you can see!  lol.

Not sure if many of you remember ‘Paper Moon’ – both the film and the made for TV programme.  It starred Ryan and Tatum O-Neale, and even though I was just a little child, I can remember how much I loved watching it.  I’d never seen anyone doing any of the things this father and daughter team did …  and it totally fascinated me.  It didn’t encourage me to try to do things like they did, I just found them both so lovable and funny and loved their love for each other.

1
Ry “It’s Only a Paper Moon”  .  .  .   an ATC for #WorldWatercolorMonth

The above photograph was taken with just the over-head lights to light it. So it just looks like a moon looking out over the sea, painted using regular water-colour paints.

2
‘It’s Only a Paper Moon’  . . .   an ATC for #WorldWatercolorMonth

However … when you add more lighting, the moon begins to glow.  This is down to me using some Kuretake Gansai Tambi Starry water-colour paints, in ‘White Gold’ for the moon, and ‘Blue Gold’ for the glow off the lamp which is hanging on the mast of the little boat bobbing on the ocean.

3
A tiny section of the painting: ‘It’s Only a Paper Moon’  . . .   an ATC for #WorldWatercolorMonth, painted by Cobwebs of The Cobweborium Emporium.

The above close up of the boat shows that the boat is actually sailing away from you in the painting.  You’re looking at the back of the boat nearest to you.  It also shows the little lamp which has been hung up on the mast of the little sailboat.

4
‘It’s Only a Paper Moon’  . . .   an ATC for #WorldWatercolorMonth

Finally, I placed a mount around the painted (and dried) ATC of  ‘It’s Only a Paper Moon’ in order to frame the painting properly and draw the eye into it.

I really enjoyed painting this one.  It was lots of fun and such a happy subject matter.  Loved it.

And … because I have the song ‘Paper Moon’ buzzing around my brain now, I felt it was only proper to share  (as good friends do) so I visited You Tube and got the song just for you.  See how much I care about you?  🙂   It’s only 2minutes and 37seconds long.   You can thank me later.  😊

 

Well … all that’s left for me to say now is …    and that’s all there was to it!  🤣  LOL

Have a truly blessed rest of your Sunday.  Thank you so much for coming and sharing a coffee with me.  It means more than you’ll ever know, so thank you.

Sending love, from me here in my corner, to you there in yours  ~

sig-coffee-copy

Author: The Art of Cobwebs - aka:- thecobweboriumemporium

Hello. I'm 'Cobwebs'. I live in a wee little cottage in the South of England, aptly called Cobweb Cottage. This little dwelling really is a cobweb factory. Not inside (well, occasionally) - but outside - flipping heck! This information should give you a clue as to why my blog is called The Art of Cobwebs aka: The Cobweborium Emporium. I've been arty and crafty from a very young age, and although my crafts have sometimes turned a corner and taken me in another direction, I've always crafted in some way, shape or form. One day, in the blink of an eye, life changed somewhat for me and the consequences were many. I had to find a new way of being 'artistic'. Card making; scrap-booking; producing ATC's and ACEO's; needle felting; Polymer clay; painting- but in a more relaxed style than I had before, and sewing, - are all things which I visit, as and when life allows. I've fairy recently become a Textile Artist and am enjoying this new creative outlet very much as it offers me so much scope for letting my imagination run through a grassy field and feel the wind in my hair - (mentally, of course). I love to create. To make things. I truthfully believe that the best gifts in the world are those in which you've given your time, rather than your cash. Thank you so much for visiting. Please visit my blog (link below) and have a look around. I'm sure you'll find something to enjoy, even if it's only a handful of jokes! (yes, seriously - there really are jokes!) Wishing you a truly blessed rest of your day! ~ Cobs. <3

33 thoughts on “It’s Only a Paper Moon ~ an ATC painted for World Watercolour Month”

    1. Hello MorningS. 😀
      I had a lovely Sunday, thank you. 🤗

      I’m so happy that you like this little ATC. I had fun makin it and couldn’t believe how quickly it came together. I began and .. in a flash, it was done!. I thought I’d forgotten something! lol

      Thank you so much for coming. I love to see you. ❤ And thank you also for the really lovely comment.
      Squidges ~ Cobs. x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Chicken.
      Aww, I’m thrilled to bits and pieces that you like this little ATC.
      I really enjoyed painting this one and it seemed to be finished almost the moment I began. It just came together in too shorter time. I wanted to go on painting it… but there was nothing left to do!

      So happy that you like it.
      Thank you for coming Chicken. I so love seeing you here.
      God Bless you.
      love ~ Cobs. x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh another great painting! I love this! What a great way to end my Saturday…just getting ready to head to bed! LOL! I’ll be sleeping great with that song in my head! Love it! Happy Sunday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Nancee
      Aww I’m chuffed to little bits that you saw this one before heading to the land of nod. I had a sneaky little feeling that you’d like this one. It ‘felt’ like your sort of thing.

      Hope you slept well and are ready to craft up a storm. 😉
      Sending crafty squidges ~ Cobs. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another wonderful moon – I loved the film too! Great artwork and I am thoroughly enjoying these posts! 😺💕xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let’s sail away together on that little dingy. Where would we go? Somewhere fun and relaxing. We could take little Cob and GT with us just for entertainment.
    Kuretake Gansai Tambi Starry water-colour…now that is a mouth full. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL… I know. It’s like a tongue twister to say it. I should have put a bit of punctuation in there … Kuretake, Gansai Tambi, Starry Water Colours. You can see where you can take a breath now. LOLOLOL.

      YES … I’m in for the sailing away on a little dinghy boat! Let’s go to someplace where it’s not so darn hot. I’m sat here with two fans on and I’m STILL melting. It’s just horrid.

      We’d have to go somewhere where they sold crafty goodies … or …. GAVE THEM AWAY FREE!
      Somewhere they would give us a huge craftroom, fitted out with all the machinery and tools which we’d need.

      And …. a person who was at our beck and call, who would bring us drinks (mine will be a sugar free tonic water, with plenty of ice, and a straw please.
      Bev… you’ll have to do your order because I don’t know what your poison is.

      There would be no cooking.
      No Washing up.
      No cleaning,
      No dusting or vacuuming.
      We would have a fully stocked wardrobe of clothes which would fit us as if they were all made for us.

      And finally … We would be chauffer driven to the airport, and put on one of those luxurious, elegantly fitted out, private planes and be taken to this magical place which I’ve just dreamed up in my mind.

      Of course … you might want something totally different. So, now you have to decide what you would like and then we can ‘modge’ the two lists together and come up with something for both of us.

      Over to you … what would you like?
      Squidges ~ me. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you ever see a TV show called Air Wolf (I think that was the name but maybe not ) Any way he lived way out no where in a cabin on a lake and sat out on the dock and played a cello and flew a bad bone chopper. Supplies could be flown in. I have thought about running away but …no money and I would miss the grands. Your idea sounds like fun too. We could take turns.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello Cobs! I have missed talking to you and I apologize for my absence! I am also saying “I’m sorry” to Chicken Grandma and Rabbit Patch and others…etc., etc.!!!!!!!!!!! We were in Houston last week…I suppose week before last now. My husband’s cousin lost his life to cancer…very quick moving and totally unexpected. He did not want anyone to know that he was so ill except his sister & brother plus his partners in his law practice. He was brilliant and funny at the same time. We enjoyed his “carrying on” so very much! So…I have not been keeping up like I should, but I am still thinking about you!

    The boat painting is just beautiful…I remember the Paper Moon movie. I would love to see it again! I liked your detailed comments and explanations! I am wanting to begin watercolors again. I painted when our children were very young and before they were born. And then…guess what!!! I had no time for painting for years! I was so busy playing with them and then teaching school!!

    Have an exceptionally wonderful week!
    Kindergarten

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Kindergarten
      I am so sorry to hear of the tragic loss of your husband’s cousin.
      It must have been such a shock to hear that he had passed.

      There is no need what-so-ever to [ever] apologise for not commenting on my blog. No need at all KinderG.

      I didn’t know you used to paint. I’d love to see you painting in watercolours again. I can see you relaxing and enjoying that particular creative side to your personality again.
      And … what fabulous posts on your blog your creations would make! People who never knew you had this talent would be surprised to find this out!
      Don’t tell them in advance … don’t give them any hints …. just do your first watercolour painting and then surprise the heck out of ’em by posting your painting. lol. Imagine how surprised they’d be! lol.

      Again, I’m so very sorry to hear of the loss of your husband’s cousin. It must have been such a terrible shock to you all.
      Sending you my love.
      ~ Cobs. xxx

      ~ Cobs. x

      Like

  5. Another fabulous piece Cobs. Looooovely shimmering effect. Wouldn’t it be great to just drift along on a boat out at sea like this. (Obviously avoiding the Portuguese fishing vessels!) an listening to the amazing Ella. Bliss! I have to be honest as soon as I saw your project I thought of Doris Day. On Moonlit Bay. Now I know you are a big fan of her films (Yes, I do read your posts) so I thought that was where you were going with this. As always, never predictable, you shared Ella. Fabulous post. Loved it and your art work.
    Hugs Flo xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh thank you Flo.
      I think I need you to come and live with me so that when I’m having a wobby and telling myself I’m rubbish and can’t make a thing worth sharing … you can talk me round. lol

      Y’know … I can actually sit, looking at this little painting and I really can see (and sing) On Moonlight Bay to it! It never struck me before. See … I need someone who has a brain! lol
      And yes, BIG fan of Doris Day.

      Thank you so much Flo. Bless your beautiful heart – both for coming and for your totally fabulous comment.
      Love you … possibly as much as Doris! 😀
      ~ Cobs. x

      Like

  6. I like the effect of these glowy paints, Cobs… I’m not even going to try to remember the name of them, however! 😀
    In fact, I love the whole feel to the painting – very relaxing and peaceful and calming.
    I don’t know anything about the Paper Moon film / show / song, but listened to the song and found that relaxing as well – although not as much as your ATC.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment