A little bit of what makes me tick . . .

Cobwebs that’s me.  Obviously it isn’t the name I was christened with – I don’t think my parents would have been that daft, – but it’s the name that everyone see’s on the backs of handmade cards and the name people know my hand made things by.

I’ve been arty and crafty all my life. My earliest memory of making something which earned great comments (and astonishment) was a nightdress which I made when I was 12 years old, from an old white sheet my mother was going to throw out because it had worn a little thin in two places. I asked if I could have it.  I think my mother thought I was going to make little blankets and dresses for my dolls, but that’s not what I had in mind at all.  Instead I made myself a long nightdress from it.

I did it without a pattern or any previous experience of making clothes.  I measured, measured again and then double checked just to make sure,  then I carefully cut out the shapes I needed, following the little pinky coloured chalk dots I’d put on the sheet (based upon the measurements I’d taken).  Once it was all sewn together  I finished it off by embroidering three little red flowers on each side of the neckline,  and added some embroidered green leaves.   I then put it on to show my mum,  her face was a picture. She couldn’t believe I’d made it all by myself.  It was her reaction which sparked this burning desire to make things.  Anything.  Just to paint, make, sew & create something and feel that ‘high’ when I’d finished the project and looked at it with new eyes.  I loved to produce things which came from a passionate part deep inside me.  I could ‘see’ my vision inside my head and all I needed was some peace and quiet to get the ideas to come out of my fingers.

My life of being arty farty has been wonderful.  Card making;  scrapbooking;  producing ATC’s and ACEO’s;  needle felting;  working with Polymer clay;  painting;  Tag Art;  oh!, on and on and on .. etc etc etc.  I love to create.  To make.

I truthfully believe that the best gifts in the world are those in which you’ve given your time, rather than your cash, – so I love to try and make something for people – something which has been made especially for them.

Thank you so much for coming to take a look around my blog. The full menu can be found over to the right —>   …  you’ll find it if you scroll up a little.   All the categories on the blog are listed there in alphabetical order,  and you can click on each category and be taken to that category as if by magic!   I’d love it if you clicked to ‘LIKE’ things you do like, (it gives me ‘feedback’ and lets me know what folks like),  and I’d be over-joyed if you clicked to ‘Follow Me’. (The button for that is again, over to the right, almost at the top).

Again, thank you for coming. I really hope to see you again.

    May your day be filled with smiles, and contentment.  ~

Cobs siggy sml

2 thoughts on “A little bit of what makes me tick . . .

Leave a Reply

