COBWEBS! Someone get the cobweb catcher!

Cobwebs mix

Oh. My. Goodness!  You only have to turn your back for a few minutes (or months) and look what happens.

Cobweb definition

There’s only supposed to be one Cobweb around here and that’s me!,  ….  but then … I have been ‘M.I.A.’ for some considerable weeks.  Sorry about that.  There have been a few things which kept me away from blogging:  A family matter which rocked my world – but not in a good way.  Ill health which left me feeling very tired, physically and mentally.  …  and  … The death of a family member ~ who I never knew I had.

I received a letter from a company who search for missing beneficiaries to the estates of deceased persons who have died intestate (without making a will).  I thought it was a mistake.  No one in my family had died, so either it was a mistake ..  or  ..  a scam.

I  researched the company and found they were a genuine, well-respected company,  and so I called them & spoke to the gentleman who’d written to me, explaining to him there must be a mistake.  He begun telling me about the deceased, (named in the letter I’d received), and by the end of the phone call I knew the letter was correct,  I was an heir.  It totally knocked me for six.  It was the strangest thing – I was beside myself with grief knowing that a relative, who I didn’t know the existence of, had died alone,  … and that I was to be a beneficiary and receive monies from his estate.  I grieved for the loss of a family member I never even knew about, and still haven’t come to terms with this heavy feeling of guilt at being a beneficiary.  A couple of months have passed since I received the letter,  and I still feel so awful about it all.

Well anyway  ….  those are a few of the things which have been keeping me from blogging.  That thing called ‘real life’  can really get in the way of fun stuff sometimes, can’t it?!

Cobwebs description

I have managed a little crafting time every now & again, and even though I had all good intentions to blog and share them with you – I even took photographs of the things I’d made,  but I never quite managed to get them to my blog.  <big sigh!>

I have however, just a few days ago,  finished a little project which I found on that wonderful time gobbling website, Pinterest.  I loved it the second I saw it, saying out loud to no one in particular apart from the cat under my desk, “Ohh how lovely.   I  HAVE  to make one of those!” …  So I did.

Photos have been taken – I’ve just got to choose the best ones, re-size them and then share the make with you, asap!

I’ve missed you all so much and thought about you many times.  What’s been happening in your world?  Do catch me up so that we can get chatting again over a cup of coffee.  I’ll come and have a gander around your blog (if you have one) and leave little messages for you!

Sending love and warm, squidgy, crafty hugs from me to you.

Coffee Sig                                                      

 

15 thoughts on “COBWEBS! Someone get the cobweb catcher!

  1. Welcome back Cobs! I’m sorry for you and excitedly pleased at the same time.
    I’m sorry for your shock, loss and illness, but happy for your recovery and wonderful excuse to be able to purchase more crafting stuff with your unexpected windfall!

    I’m grinning for you as we speak. xx

    Like

  2. Oh, good, you are back. I have missed you, and missed seeing the wonderful things you create, my friend. I understand about your mixed feelings on the loss and windfall. I have never had an unknown die and leave me anything but I have had a few knowns die leave me something and it is a quandary. So sad at the loss, and feeling guilty about any happy feelings about the gain.

    I hope you are feeling better and that family issues are being resolved as best they can be. And that you will share photos of the things you have been working on these many weeks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello (((Salpal))) 😀 . Seeing your name appear in the comments here gave me a beautiful warm feeling throughout my body. Like a hug to the heart.
      I’ve missed you very much too. I was just over on your blog catching up with things and loving some of your makes.

      Nodding in agreement about being a beneficiary of someone who’s passed away. I feel so distraught about the whole thing. The passing of a relative who I was totally unaware of having, was a heart sore to me. I so wish that I’d have known him, visited him, knew him. Then add that I found out at the same time that I was an heir to whatever monies he left behind. I’ve done nothing to deserve any of this money, so the guilt of being in receipt of it is massive. I haven’t received any monies yet – they are still trying to track down another beneficiary, – and don’t know how much I am to receive. It could just be a few pounds for all I know – but the guilt is still the same. Had I looked after him, visited & cared for him, did his shopping, collected his medications or even just visited once a week or called him regularly on the telephone, then perhaps I might have felt differently. But I never knew he even existed, and this, for some reason, makes the guilt so much heavier, more painful to my heart. It’s the oddest feeling.

      Thank you so much for your lovely message Sal. I’ve just got back from shopping, and will have a little lunch, a coffee, and then, I’ll be taking a little look at the photos of my recent project and, fingers crossed, will be able to post some piccies on the blog.

      Sending you heaps of love. Have a blessed rest of your day my friend. ~ Cobs. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • It must be an odd feeling. But I feel certain you will do some good with whatever you receive. Cut yourself some slack, though, if you can- you can’t be at fault for not knowing he existed.

        And thanks for doing all that catching up, I saw you in the stats!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Aw, thanks (((Salpal))).
          I’m still catching up with your blog. I LOVE the button hats – and adore your niece B for being such a brilliant sort, smling through all the snaps!
          In one of the photographs she’s ‘showing’ a scarf which you’ve knitted, and her hair is tucked out of sight. I actually thought she’d had a hair cut mid photo shoot! It really does look like a new hair cut …. and WOW, it suits her!
          I’ll be back later, having another stroll through your blog, catching up with a little more.
          In the meantime ~ Happy Easter! ❤ ~ Cobs.x

          Like

  3. Phew…I was beginning to wonder if you were OK……but totally understand,especially about the loss. It’s been a horriblis few months for me too, as I lost my Mum and my partner has been diagnosed with cancer 3 days after, so it is still an uphill battle. Anyhow, as Mum would say, there is only one way and that’s up, and I can’t wait to see what you have created. Hugs Kim x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Kim! 🙂
      Ohh Kim I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of your Mum, and then to read the news of your partner being diagnosed with Cancer – just three days after losing Mum – this must have been unbearable for you. You’ve been given a struggle to deal with, but I’m a true believer that God gives the heaviest burdens to those who have the strength to carry the weight. I read a quote a while back which went something like:- We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up or fight like hell. – and it spoke to me. I was reminded of it when I read your message, and my feeling was to share it with you.

      Sending you loving thoughts and hugs from a friend. I shall include you both in my prayers.
      ~ Cobs. x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cobbs, i was so happy to see your post in my newsfeed, as I have missed you and was worried about your well being. My condolences for all you have been through. Sending hugs across the world wide web to you my crafty, kind hearted friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Michelle, it’s wonderful to see you.
      I too have been thinking about you, and your beautiful brood of children, wondering how they were getting on, and how the newest addition was settling in.

      Thank you for your thoughts and hugs, my friend. I shall be visiting your blog today and seeing if I can catch up on all I’ve missed.
      In the meantime … sending love and wishing you a truly blessed day. ~ Cobs. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cobs,
    So sorry for “real life”, I hate when that gets in the way. I understand your feeling of guilt though. I had an uncle pass away a few years ago, he never let anyone know he was sick. Real life got in the way and it had been months since I had seen him. I had just been thinking I needed to make time to go see him soon when I received the call that he had passed away. I was so overwhelmed with grieve and guilt about letting little things in my life get in the way of going to see him. I never knew he was sick, if I had I would have made it a priority to be there. It has been years and I still carry the guilt with me. Sometimes I wonder if he didn’t tell anyone just to see who would be there, turns out it was no one. We all had our own things going on and since we thought he was fine, we never checked in on him. His son found him and it was confirmed he had been gone two days before anyone even knew. It still breaks my heart.
    I too have let life get in the way of my blogging. The other day I sat wondering how long it had been, and then it hit me that I hadn’t seen anything from you. I was hoping that you were okay and missing you. I’m going to have to go look at my blog to see exactly how long it has been before I can catch you up on things on my end. So much has been going on, nothing too terrible though.
    (((Hugs)))
    Stacey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Stacey my blogging friend. How fabulous to see you.
      I’ve thought about you many times while I’ve been ‘away’ from blogland, wondering how your truly lovely house ‘signs’ are being received, and constantly wishing you well with both your venture and you and your families life.

      I’m so sorry to read of the loss of your uncle and the situation of life getting in the way at the time.
      I wonder if perhaps he didn’t tell anyone he was suffering such ill health, simply because it was a bore to him personally. I know that I find my own ill health a boring subject so I’ll say that I don’t feel well, but then I’ll leave it at that because to try to explain further is such a boring thing for me to talk about when there are so many more positive sujects that I would rather discuss. Perhaps he was the same. I’m sure though that he didn’t think badly of anyone for not being able to visit very often. He’d likely lived to an age where he sees that others have their own lives to contend with and those lives are, to them, the important thing. Don’t beat yourself up about it beautiful hearted one. He wouldn’t want you to do that. Ever.

      I’ve just popped over to your blog – just for a quick glance at the last couple of posts (LOVE the ‘Today I will wear’ hangers!) – but I’ll visit again later, with a cup of coffee in hand, so that I can have a good old read.

      Thank you for leaving me a message Stacey – I know how busy you are, so you taking the time to chat is something I count as one of my many blessings. I love that we can do the chat thing, here in our blogs. It kind of brings us close together and makes ‘blogland’ so much more friendlier, warm, cheerful, happy and, well, just generally a nicer place to be. 🙂
      Sending oodles of love ❤ and bear sized warm hugs ~ Cobs. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

