Even a Fairy has to have Shoes!

 The Cobweborium Emporium welcomes you into the Realm of the Fae, where magic can be marvelled and wonderment rules.

 

Here is where Once upon a Time comes back to life . . .

Bodwink's Faery Boots handmade by Cobwebs

Bodwink’s Faery Boots
handmade
by
Cobwebs

Many years ago  I was taught to sculpt in heavy, grey Stoneware Clay and I remember one day,  my teacher coming to my work bench and seeing at what I was sculpting he smiled warmly at me and said … it’s all in the details for you, isn’t it..   He’d noticed, over time, something that I hadn’t realised before,  –  I loved to make tiny little extra additions to all my sculpts.   It was a lightbulb moment for me!  Before this I just thought I was just doing finishing touches to any sculpts I produced,  because they seemed to bring my sculpted things to life.

I began to look for a medium which would allow me to sculpt little things.   Although Stoneware is amazing – it’s a little too gritty to make the smooth surfaces I wanted in my small things.  I found a particular mix of polymers was the perfect thing and these tiny Fairy Shoes came out of my fingers about 9 years ago.

Bodwink's Fairy Boots

I christen all of my handmade shoes with the name of the Faery, Fairy, Elf or any other inhabitant of the Faery Realm who wears the shoes or boots which I make.   These,  are Bodwinks Boots.

They measure less than one and a half inches long,  and they have a finish to them which makes them look like they’ve been spray painted in pearlescent paint.  Very twinkly, with a depth which suggests they’re ‘other worldly’.

Bodwink's Faery Boots made  by  Cobwebs

Bodwink’s Faery Boots
made
by
Cobwebs

While you’re here … and I’ve got your attention ..   I’m figuring that you perhaps like Fairy or magical type things since you’re reading this blog post, and if so I would love to share with you something which I’ve held dear to my heart for years.  There is a company called Duirwaigh (it means ‘door way’) who produced a mini film called: A Knock at the Door

This was Duirwaigh’s first inspirational mini-film. It contains beautiful works of art from a range of fantasy artists, combined with some beautiful, inspiring text that leads the viewer of the film back to the magical place inside themselves.

From their website: A Knock at the Door takes us to the beginning and end of every journey; a place of wonder and innocence, but above all a place of remembering – to the most magical secret place of all – the place of believing.”

Sit back, relax and watch the movie.  Your inner child will thank you for doing it.  

 

Have a truly beautiful rest of your day.  ~  Cobs siggy sml

One thought on “Even a Fairy has to have Shoes!

Leave a Reply

